Saturday, November 6, 2010

Bravo Brunch for the Arts - 2010 Artie Awards

Over 125 people attended the presentation of the 2010 Artie Awards at the annual Bravo Brunch in the Arts United Center. There were eight winners in seven categories for 2010. Two nominees were honored for Lifetime Achievement. Executive Director, Jim Sparrow, and Indiana Arts Commission chairwoman, Jeanne Mirro, presented the honors.

Artist of the Year
Derek Reeves
joined the Fort Wayne Philharmonic as Principal Violist in 2003 and has performed in concert and as a soloist extensively throughout the United States, Europe and Japan. He plays violin with his jazz trio, the Mimi Burns Band, and arranges and conducts the string orchestra for the Voices of Unity youth choir.
Outstanding Arts Advocate
The Fort Wayne Philharmonic Friends
began in 1944 as the Women’s Committee and later the Philharmonic Volunteers. With 150 members, they advance the arts through their free pre-concert talks, instrument loan program, instrument playground and have awarded 31 scholarships this year. John McFann accepted the award.

Corporate Arts Supporter
Indiana Michigan Power has been a long-standing arts and cultural supporter in our community. Their nomination from the Fort Wayne Ballet recognizes support that has grown from a decade of sponsoring the Nutcracker to a creative collaboration promoting National Dance Week with “Everyone Dances,” featuring trading cards printed with Indiana Michigan Power line mechanics and Ballet dancers.

Art Educator of the Year
Heather Miller has grown the art program at Oak Farm Montessori School tremendously in the eight years of her exceptional leadership. She also instructs art for home-schooled children, at summer camps and a Winter Camp for children with cancer. She is a published children’s book author and vice president of FAME.

The Downtown Improvement District, City of Fort Wayne, Visit Fort Wayne and Arts United collectively manage the newly designated cultural district. This partnership will shape the future of the community through cultural, economic and quality of life projects and initiatives. The group worked diligently this year to analyze Fort Wayne’s cultural assets, to outline a cultural plan for the community, to form the district and obtain a formal Cultural District designation for downtown Fort Wayne. Rich Davis (center, left) and Dan O'Connell (center right) accepted the award for the groups.

Volunteer of the Year
Susan Jones
has been an advocate for the arts her entire life; first, through her 25-year career in education, then, through her leadership in many community organizations. She volunteers for the Wabash Valley Music Association, Wabash Unit of the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra, the Honeywell House, and Wabash Musicale. She wrote the script, lyrics and music for the historical play “Wait ‘til You Get to Wabash.”

Lifetime Achievement
June Enoch
has been a tireless champion of the arts and a lifelong volunteer in many different capacities. She is recognized for her years of board service to many organizations, her generous support and advocacy and most notably her recent work for the Museum of Art’s Capital Campaign making an immeasurable difference in the life of the Museum.

Jackson Lehman was nominated by the Fort Wayne Philharmonic for decades of board leadership and fundraising expertise, both with The Phil and other organizations including Arts United. He was instrumental in renovations of the Embassy Theatre and the Allen County Courthouse and has supported a variety of arts groups through his leadership of the English, Bonter, Mitchell Foundation. June and Jack were not available for photos.