Wednesday, November 17, 2010

7th Annual National Philanthropy Day Awards Breakfast

The Association of Fundraising Professionals Northeast Indiana Chapter hosted the 7th Annual National Philanthropy Day Outstanding Philanthropists Awards Breakfast on Wednesday, November 17th at Ceruti’s. The awards breakfast recognized those individuals and organizations in our community whose generous gifts of time, expertise, and resources have made Northeast Indiana a better place to live.

Four awards for Outstanding Philanthropy were presented:
Jean Vrabel (LFG), Taylor Reuille, Madeleine Baker, Jerry D. Fox
• Outstanding Youth in Philanthropy – Taylor Reuille, who at the age of 11 started on a quest to bring a Boundless Playground to the Fort Wayne community so children of all abilities and disabilities would have a place to play together. Three years after her quest began, Taylor and Fort Wayne Parks & Recreation broke ground on the first Boundless Playground in Indiana. Because of one young girl’s vision and dedication the playground will open on Memorial Day, 2011.

• Outstanding Philanthropist – Jerry D. Fox has been a force for good in sports- and youth-oriented nonprofits for over 25 years. As a result of his philanthropic leadership and fundraising activities, Fort Wayne has seen the strengthening and diversification of the sports program at IPFW, the construction of the Memorial Baseball Stadium which brought minor league baseball to the city, and the establishment of the Lifetime Sports Academy.

• Outstanding Corporate Philanthropist – The Lincoln Financial Corp. has a long and rich history of supporting a range of programs and projects in the communities in which it is located. The company sets aside up to 2% of its pre-tax earnings to support charitable contributions. In 2009 the Lincoln Foundation donated $3,180,405 in the greater Fort Wayne area, giving to such causes as services for children and aging adults, healthcare, literacy training, childcare, prevention of abuse and violence, emergency shelters, transportation, music, theater, public television and radio, and education. Everyone who lives in Fort Wayne benefits from the philanthropic spirit of the Lincoln Financial Corporation.

• Outstanding Nonprofit Leader – Madeleine Baker became the Executive Director at Early Childhood Alliance in January, 2002, bringing nearly 20 years of experience to theposition. With solid management skills, Madeleine has advanced the mission of building better futures for young children through the many quality services EAC provides for children, families, and childcare providers. Because of Madeleine, the Board is more representative of the diversity in our community, a volunteer program was created to supplement the work of staff, a planned giving committee was created, and the organization moved into the 21st Century using technology to improve inter-agency communications, streamline reporting, strengthen financial management, and improve efficiencies. Madeleine also spearheaded the creation of two unique events—the annual themed tea party and a block-building competition called Plank-APalooza— which have raised awareness of ECA and are providing new financial support for the organization’s programs.
Kathy Callen, daughter of Richard Doermer

In addition to recognizing the Outstanding Philanthropists of 2010, the AFP Northeast Indiana Chapter and its sponsors recognized and honored the late Richard “Dick” Doermer for a lifetime of leadership in philanthropy.

Finally, the organization honored special Giving Hearts in our community—those volunteers, donors, board members, and employees who go that extra mile and are always willing to chair another committee, take on another project, or put in extra time to ensure the mission is accomplished.

This year’s Giving Heart honorees are:

American Red Cross of Northeast Indiana
Katherine MacAulay
Jo Milliken
Lynn Witt
Early Childhood Alliance
John Rogers
Suzanne Rogers
East Allen County Schools Educational Foundation
James Ball
Joyce Magner
Salvation Army
Ginny Thomas
Fort Wayne Children’s Choir
Nancy Swanson
Volunteer Center @ RSVP
Ron Costa
Larry Drook
Susie Pierce
Donald T. Thornton
Fort Wayne Center for Learning
Jennifer Jo Brown
Turnstone Center for Children and Adults with Disabilities
Art Litton
Marcia Litton
YWCA of Northeast Indiana
Tonya Wine

The keynote speaker at the breakfast was former State Representative Matt Bell.